ANEFO 2016 Banquet


2016 ANEFO Banquet

The 2016 ANEFO Annual Awards Banquet was held at the Irish-American Club in Malden, Massachusetts on Monday, November 21, 2016 at 7:00 p.m. This capstone season event is historically the Monday before the annual Thanksgiving Day football games.  Rick Cacciatore was the master of ceremonies, and he introduced the retirees and special guests.  The platters of food kept coming and coming; the dinner was once again outstanding!  Bob Prestera, ANEFO Secretary Treasurer, presented the two ANEFO scholarships; this year, they were earmarked for Steve White and Caitlin Ouelette who are both college bound. Next, Don Werner, ANEFO President, presented the Fred Gardner Longevity Award to Jake Wade.  Later, President Werner presented the President’s Award to the following two student-athletes: Duval Paul, a football player from Everett High School and Jaason Lopez, a football player from Marblehead High School.  The C. Howard Smith Official’s Award was next presented to a surprised and well-deserving David Carter.  Later, the William McDonald High School Official’s Award was presented to a stunned, but not speechless, Michael Hegan.  Next, the Paul Tighe Award was presented to Robert Marinelli.  Later, the Mark T. Crehan’s Coaches Award was presented to Cape Ann League: Head Coach Steve Hayden from Pentucket Regional High School. Finally, Don Werner, passed the gavel to John Mattuchio and the ANEFO wished him a successful term as the new president.  Once again, it is a tip of the official’s hat to the ANEFO for an outstanding banquet!

For more information about award recipients see:  AWARDS PAGE <– (Click Here)