ANEFO 2014 Banquet

BanquetThe 2014 ANEFO Annual Awards Banquet was held at the Irish-American Club in Malden, Massachusetts on Monday, November 24, 2014 at 7:00 p.m. This capstone season event is historically the Monday before the annual Thanksgiving Day football games.  Rick Cacciatore was the master of ceremonies, and he introduced the retirees and special guests.  The platters of food kept coming and coming; the dinner was once again outstanding!  Bob Prestera, ANEFO Secretary Treasurer, presented the two ANEFO scholarships; this year, they were earmarked for Connor Henry and Jamie Lannon who were both away at college. Next, a special longevity and appreciation award was presented to retiring Terry Walsh.  Later, Mike Hegan, ANEFO president-elect, presented the George E. Murphy Award to Isaias Ortiz, a football player from Brockton High School.  The C. Howard Smith Official’s Award was next presented by Chris Clemente to a well-deserving Frank Poska.  Bob Prestera later presented the William McDonald High School Official’s Award to a stunned and speechless James Kearney.  Later, the Mark T. Crehan’s Coaches Award was presented to Cape Ann League Coach Jim Pugh from Masconoment High School. Finally, Rick Cacciatore, on behalf of Jack Joyce, passed the gavel to Mike Hegan and the ANEFO wished him a successful term as the new president.  Once again, it is a tip of the official’s hat to the ANEFO for an outstanding banquet!

Longevity Award -  Terry Walsh (left)

Longevity Award –
Terry Walsh (left)